home page
read this
reviews
interviews
author
excerpts
calendar
new work
contact

More reviews from readers on Goodreads.

VACATIONLAND

"...a chronicler with storytelling gifts reminiscent of our most holy mother of the frozen north, Alice Munro, (Stonich) has a similar flair for ferrying readers back in time for several pages, deepening our regard for a character, then softly dropping us back into the present without a moments confusion or jostling. ...As with Munro, things here are not what they seem beneath the surface, both metaphorically and literally, and Stonich delivers beautiful storytelling without ever resorting to sentimentality."   
Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Crackling dialogue and smart turns of phrase."
Publishers Weekly

"Stonich displays formidable narrative skill...each connected story is given its own true, clear voice. Vacationland is compelling, witty and nuanced, an in credibly enjoyable glimpse inside the worlds of seemingly disparate individuals. For fans of Richard Russo and Margaret Atwood, this is a brilliantly engaging novel, focusing on the power of memory, new discoveries and shared experiences.
A truimph."
Booklist (starred review)

SHELTER


"Stonich's descriptions of the natural assets of this region are as gorgeous and detailed as a spider's web at dawn. ...shines in her intimate portraits of the northern Minnesota experience. But Shelter is also a satisfying exploration of family, immigration and middle-age romance in the age of online dating services. Stonich's own connection to the same rugged earth is more conflicted...giving Shelter a humble and authentically Minnesotan glow."

Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Shelter is a keen-witted narrative, bound with choice metaphors, and sturdy verbs, such as "thrumming" and "anthropomorphized." In Shelter, I found a poetic memoir, a genealogical trip, and a picturesque travelogue that is absorbing to the last page."
Diana Nolan, Story Circle Book Reviews

"At times an adventure story, a sweet romance, and a laugh-out-loud monologue, Stonich's memoir is an ode to family, homeland and Mother Nature.  Shelter is the kind of book that will cling determinedly to memories as a welcome stowaway on our own Northwoods pilgrimages."

Lindsay O'Brien, Duluth News Tribune

THESE GRANITE ISLANDS

VERY excited about the re-issue of These Granite Islands with this arresting new cover coming out from the U of MN Press in tandem with Vacationland. This enduring story of one woman’s history, her marriage in a small town, and the intimate friendship that changes her perspectives remains a perennial favorite a dozen years after its original publication, now translated to nine languages.

"One of the joys of reading is coming across a book in which language is perfectly wedded to story."

Colum McCann, author of Let The Great Worl Spin

"Like a well-paced feast...the kind of book that instills a hunger for more.  This is artful melodrama, with a constant sense of excavation of shadowy truths about love, friendship, and memory delecately unearthed."L. A. Times

...brisk dialogue and an assured plot...an appealing story about one woman’s transformation... Minneapolis STrib

"...atmospherically rendered, with carefully observed scenes. Stonich unfurls a complex, many-layered and suspenseful story; and, like Susan Minot and Anita Shreve, she handles flashbacks and contemporary details with equal precision.

Publisher’s Weekly

"Unexpected and Moving."  Chicago Tribune

"A lovely novel...only as Isobel lays dying does she begin to realize her own placid life had its own drama and daring - its own hot center."  Boston Globe

THE ICE CHORUS


"Stonich effortlessly conjures multiple vivid settings and uncommonly interesting characters even as she moves seamlessly between the past and present. A subtle, lovely evocation of the transforming power of love.

Booklist 

"An aesthetic triumph with real heart."

from Bookpage

" The Ice Chorus is one of those transporting novels that readers will inhabit as they're reading, and perhaps even replay the scenes that pack a particularly cinematic punch. In her unconventional second effort, Stonich has fully mastered the ability to build mood, creating a dreamy air of possibility that lingers."

Minneapolis Star Tribune


"Stonich pays homage to the tradition of Irish storytelling in this sophisticated and fully realized tale of love and forgiveness."

Publishers Weekly

 


^ back to top

 
 

 

Buy at Amazon

 

Vacationland by Sarah Stonich

 
     


 

 

 

 

 

These Granite Islands by Sarah Stonich